By Gary Smee Thursday 11 October 2012 Updated: 12/10 14:14
A FAMOUS Evesham historian who was the first man to document the town's history has been honoured for his work two centuries ago.
Mr May, a prominent businessman in the town in the early 1800s, ran a printing and publishing business from the building now occupied by W H Smith in Bridge Street and was the author of the first History of Evesham book published in 1834.
On Saturday (October 6) town dignitaries and members of the Vale of Evesham Historical Society attended the service at the Unitarian Chapel gardens in Oat Street and unveiled a new memorial stone to replace one which had faded.
Mr May, who is buried in the Oat Street Chapel graveyard alongside his daughter, was an enthusiastic supporter of the Unitarian Chapel and a member of the congregation for more than 20 years.
The memorial of York stone was made and installed by Port Street stonemason David Yeates of Simply Stone and funded by public subscriptions and the historical society with the support of the Unitarian Chapel.
The Mayor of Evesham, Robert Raphael, also gave a speech and paid tribute to the work of the historical society and similar organisations in making sure the rich heritage of the town is remembered and there for everyone to see.
THE NEW headteacher of Prince Henry's High School
A VALE school is strengthening its connections in
MORE than 150 people turned out to view
A RADIO-MAD youngster is hoping to conquer the
WARWICKSHIRE Police and Crime Commissioner Ron Ball has thrown his ...
SCHOOLS from around the district came together to celebrate the ...
VANDALS sprayed graffiti over five cars after breaking into a ...